The Right Attitude to Rain

It’s raining again this morning. But who’s to be surprised? It wouldn’t be Melbourne if it didn’t unexpectedly rain in winter. Or summer. Or any season in between, for that matter. And no, I’m not having another weather whinge and risking sounding like a grumpy old man who still doesn’t believe climate change exists. Instead, I will brave up to it and make peace with my SAD**, and until I can be bothered with afford those light therapy lamps, I’m gonna make myself watch Charlie Bit Me again because that never fails to crack me up!

And it was such a coincidence that I just read this line:

“I’m not put off by rain,” said Mimi. “Rain can be beautiful, don’t you think? And there’s no point becoming depressed by it. That never changes anything.

which came from this wonderful book:

So keep on pouring, Melbourne. Because we need those precious drops from the blue. After all that drizzling 2 weeks ago, our water storage level is still barely above 32%. This drought is cruel. So, so cruel!

Anyhow, just now a little mental slide-show suddenly started playing itself in my head. Of another rainy place. Because 11 o’clock in the morning feels like 8 at night, all dark & grey. Because for some weird unknown reasons, this morning I picked out the same knit top & the same scent I once wore when I was there. In the aptly named Emerald City. Where it had the heart to drizzle on every single day of my stay. It was absolutely freezing.

But I was warm. From the inside out. And that was all that mattered. Isn’t that just the right attitude to rain?

“You are mine entirely, she thought; now, at this moment, you are mine entirely, but you will not be for long, … , because I do not possess you. … I wish I could possess you, but now, more than ever, I do not.”

~crystal silver shade~

** Isn’t it funny, how everyone has to have some kind of disorder / phobia / symptom these days? Doesn’t it feel just a tad fickle? Not that there’s any harm in it though. In fact, I guess it’s a good thing, in a way, to put a certain name to a certain trait, and by that, including yourself in a certain group. And ‘to belong’ is, in my opinion, one of the deepest human desires. But I’m getting too far ahead of myself here. I started an entry on ‘belonging’ months ago but never seem to be able to finish it. Did someone just mutter ‘procrastinator’? Hmm…

One thought on “The Right Attitude to Rain

  1. Pingback: The dog hair « Amy’s little soap box

Leave a Reply

