Under the clocks at Flinders Street Station

So I told him
to meet me
under the clocks
at Flinders Street Station
One day
Some day

.

Like how we met up with friends
in all these years
Friends who are still here
Friends who are now there
Friends who we’ll never see again

.

How we sat on those steps
listening to the trains
looking out at the sun, the wind, the rain
The river flowing by
The crowd passing by
The clocks ticking by
Tick tock
Tick tock

.

And I told him
maybe you’ll remember to come
maybe you won’t
maybe I’ll remember to wait
maybe I won’t
But the crowd would still be there
the river would still be there
the clocks would still be there
ticking away
at Flinders Street Station

.

~tt 1am 13 Jul 08~

.

[Flinders Street Station on Wiki]

2 thoughts on “Under the clocks at Flinders Street Station

  1. That’s a really visual piece of writing, I wish I could write in that way I always get stuck. The picture helps a lot thought to create that visual and emotion. I get mind blocks after two sentences or can’t work words around the concept.

  2. Thanks Jack :). I’m never good with poems & prose. But sometimes it just comes out. I’m like you, if I try to limit my words into a poem I’d often get stuck & frustrated very quickly. Don’t even get me started on trying to make it rhyme. No hope there.

Leave a Reply

