Putting things in perspective

There’s some news I need to tell you. More pressing than the 1% drop in interest rates. More important than Britney Spears’s comeback. Definitely more worthy than the gazillion Miss This Miss That  beauty pageants in Vietnam. That is,

Blue Dragon needs your help. NOW!

I’m going to paste Michael’s latest entry again here because *putting on a stern voice* I know many of you would be too slack to click that link. Am I right? Or am I right? Hmph!

There’s a lot of bad news around lately, but Blue Dragon has some urgent needs to meet that won’t cost $700 bn…

Two families in Hue are having a crisis of their own: homelessness. Each family consists of two sons and a mother; and each lost their house in a storm. The first family (below) owns their own land, but are living in a tin shack which will be freezing this winter and has been unbearably hot all summer.

The second family (below) is one that I have written about previously. One of the sons was trafficked to Ho Chi Minh City, but we helped him come home in August. This family is living in a tent on the beach; their living conditions are just extraordinary.

We’re estimating that each family needs about $2500 to rebuild their home, connect the electricity, dig a well, and get some basic furniture. I don’t to like use the blog in this way too often… but if you can help with even just a part of this, please let me know: bluedragon@bdcf.org.

If you want to do this in somebody else’s name, Blue Dragon can send your friend or family member a picture of the home that they have helped build… could be a cool Christmas present.

I’m sorry if that put tears in your eyes. But I’m even more sorry if it didn’t. If you know what I mean.

On an unrelated (but keep reading and you’ll find it’s actually related) note, in my lines of work I hear a lot about weddings. Recently I made some jewellery for a wedding in which the flowers alone cost $3000. Yes, three thousand dollars. 500 dollars more than what’s needed to build those families a sturdy shelter they can call home. Three thousand dollars just for fresh flowers, just for ONE day. Oh, maybe not one day because afterwards the bride decided to have her bouquet dried and framed for an extra $200, in a process that took 2 months. So we should make peace with the fact that the couple will live happily ever after with a $3200 dried up bouquet hanging on the wall, shouldn’t we? Don’t get me wrong, I’m not bitching about this girl, she’s such a sweet person and is a delight to work with. Nor am I bashing the priceless emotional reward that is a perfect wedding. Every couple deserve that. But I just can’t help making the comparison, and I can’t help feeling slightly bitter at the unfairness of it all. I simply can’t.

Anyhoo, enough with the rant. If you haven’t fished out your wallet or logged onto your Internet banking, ready to fork over some dosh to help out those poor families yet, what say I’d come over and do it for you, eh? Not to sound threatening, but my close friends can prepare to be constantly bugged and pestered in the next few weeks. In a very nice way, I promise!

~tea two~

UPDATE: HOW TO DONATE

  • If you’re in The Land Down Under, click HERE.

  • If you’re in the US of A, click HERE.

  • Anywhere else, please go HERE.

And remember, as Mosh pointed out in the comments below, your donation is Tax Deductible in Australia and the US, so what are you waiting for?

2 thoughts on “Putting things in perspective

  1. hahah Mosh, good plan! that’d totally work.
    i’m gonna have a BBQ, probably next weekend, I’ll lure them in, stuff them with sausages, and you’ll go for their wallets ok?

    oh yeah, the tax thing. Yup, even more reason to donate now, people!

Leave a Reply

