Read

I’ve been reading too much lately, it’s getting hard to keep track. Every Monday (half of my weekend), I’d pretty much zoom straight to the local library directly from my bed, and lug home a huge pile of books, from which I can only manage to read a few. But no matter, just the weight of them on my arms and the sight of them on my shelves are rewarding enough for this pathetic bookworm. As if I can somehow absorb all those carefully worded thoughts through some kind of mental osmosis.

One could speculate that I read to fill an emotional void. Emotional reader! Partly true. I also eat too much, sleep too much, swim too much (for me), do the Charleston around the house too much, and generally enjoy my days too much. One big fat ever-expanding emotional void, eh?

Anyhow, so I’ve read some really good books but had no time to write about them. I could really do with a thought-recording device. Why is it that no one has made anything like that yet?!

Well, what about a quick recap? I take your silence as a yes.

413nzymji4l_sx160_1 516m7xwrwyl_sx160_ 51gflct1z1l_sx160_ autoscale-160

1. Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim [by David Sedaris]

A wonderful collections of essays! Witty, observant, honest, funny, touching. Made me laugh out loud, made me shed a tear, made me think. Poked its fingers in within my muddle of a brain and gave them a good stir-up. Mr. Sedaris can now be seen in… my top favourite writers list. I’m going to have to buy this book. Anyone wants to get me an early birthday present? 😉

2. The Tale of Genji (Illustrated Japanese Classics) [by Murasaki Shikibu]

Another grown up comics. I saw the four huge volumes of “The Tale of Genji” at Narita airport two years ago and thought of lugging them home. Hey I was only using up the left over Japanese yens instead of exchanging it back to Aus dollars and wasted another chunk in commission. But I already had 7 books at the time in my flimsy duffel bag. So had to settled with buying only (only!) 3 other books instead.

Anyway after reading this illustrated version — a good, consise number with beautiful drawings, I’m glad I didn’t spent all that many a yen and consequently waste many an hour of my life poring over tiny letters about a promiscuous prince! Because that’s who he was. Seriously. It’s interesting how in folklores, from many cultures, if someone is deemed a “good character”, then no matter what he does, he’s still always good. But the same thing done by his opponent is considered evil. Ah the long gone simplicity.

3. Past Mortem [by Ben Elton]

Your typical “whodunnit” story. The pace is good, enough to keep me turning pages till the wee hours. But the plot is a little predictable and too “staged”. The characters are self-contradicting and sometimes fake. Full of widespread psychological stereotypes, which annoyed the sh*t out of me. Psychological thriller? I think not. Mr. Elton should read more Minette Walters.

4. Air Kisses [by Zoe Foster]

I don’t even know why I picked up this book. Chick lit to the max. I haven’t touched any of these light fluffy stuff for a while, so can’t say I hated it. Quick and easy read, but don’t me ask what the story was. Already forgotten. I think I’ve read enough Helen Fielding, Marian Keyes and even some Jane Green to last a couple decades. Ms. Foster is a good blogger with a wacky sense of humour. But an entire novel is a whole other kettle of fish, or should I say, line of lipsticks. Some people should really just stick to blogging.

Phew. That’s it. I think. If only one could stretch out some more hours in a day.

~tm~

Leave a Reply

