Rebel

A. ran away from home once. Years ago. One day he got so angry at his Mum, he went right to his room and packed his stuff in a suitcase. On the way out he said “I’m leaving. I’m going now.” before Mum gave him a sandwich which he accepted without a word.

Then he walked out the door, strolled all the way to the end of the street, past the park, sat on a bench, chowed down his lunch and came home.

He was five.

It’s so cute it made me all starry-eyed with laugh! A. said he still has that little green suitcase (the size of a lady’s handbag)  at his parents’ old house somewhere. I’ve made a point to try and retrieve it at some stage. So when I’m mad at him I can go, Here, take your suitcase, pack it and leave. Come back after lunch. Only this time I won’t make you a sandwich, go to KFC. 😉

~n~

4 thoughts on “Rebel

  1. I ran away from when I was 5 as well, I didn’t take any food, just wore black and ran out of the house in the middle of the night, like 7pm, which was late since my bed time was 8pm ‘ish.

    I just went to a park near by to have fun, then it was closed, I was bored and lonely, nobody came to look for me and I went home.

    I got home and I was scolded “You gave Nann a heart attack she went to look for you and couldn’t find you, we thought you were taken by gypsies or junkies!”

    Yeah our parents biggest fear for us when we lived in London was we would be taken by gypsies or junkies.

  2. ~ Belle, hehe, i reckon he still is. 😉

    ~ Jack, why did you have to wear black? To blend in with the night? Hahaha so adorable! and you got bored?! 🙂
    yeah we all had our rebellious time didn’t we?

Leave a Reply

