The waiting game

I told Mr. Man, as we prepared to stand in line for 3 hours (THREE! HOURS!) to catch Salvador Dali’s exhibition at the NGV before it left Australia, that:

  • I didn’t wait 3 hours to board a boat out to the Statue of Liberty in New York
  • I didn’t wait 3 hours to get up the top of the Empire State building (also in NYC)
  • I wouldn’t wait 3 hours to meet our Prime Minister, or the Queen, or the President of the US
  • I wouldn’t wait 3 hours to meet any artist / designer / celebrity
  • I will only wait 3 hours, or longer if necessary, to see my parents or the few people most important to me in life.

But there I was, snaking my way around a jam-packed hall for 180 excruciating minutes, on a beautiful Sunday morning, to see an art exhibition, not because of a deceased artist – famous or otherwise, but because of Mr. Man himself. If that’s not an act of sacrifice, then I don’t know what is. You agree? 😉

And then 5 minutes before we could get in through that door, after, and ahead of, many hundreds of people, Mr. Man spotted a TV crew buzzing around the hall, and said to me, Hey but at least you could be on TV. Then a funny thing happened. It was as if the universe did its thought vibe stuff and transmitted his line straight to the reporter, because as we approached the door, she made a beeline for him and asked if she could interview him. A few hours later, after we got back from a long day at the gallery, the city and the beach, his friend called and almost yelled on the phone, “Here I am on my couch, just turned on the 6 o’clock news, and THERE IS YOUR MUG ON NATIONAL TELEVISION!”

So well, the artworks were fantastic, it was Dali, after all. And the rest of the day was just as beautiful. But even though we missed the news when it was aired, I reckon it was his TV debut that clinched the deal and made my day. Talk about Surrealism! 😉

dali

(The Age Sunday, 04 Oct 2009)

~sun~

3 thoughts on “The waiting game

  1. Good thing you guys weren’t lying limp over a tree branch watching time stand still. Hehe.

    Michaelangelo’s work is being displayed at the Seattle Art Museum. Think I’ll take a look.

  2. hahah good one, Minh! But i was a little upset and my face started to melt until I needed to go grab all those clutches/supports to hold up my skin.
    Well you’d better check out that exhibition, mister! Michaelangelo, no less! And then tell me all about it.

  3. Pingback: Wannabe art connoisseurs. The environmentally destructive kind. « Amy’s little soap box

Leave a Reply

