Name dropping

I said: I’d like to go to Prague!

Our gorgeous Ukrainian said: But you’re gonna be in Europe. You have to check out Kiev & St. Petersburg! April / May is the best time!

Another lovely Ukrainian German said: But Berlin is only 2 hours away by train and also, Hannover is amazing! And Autumn’s not bad either.

Mum reminded: Yes, and don’t forget you’ve got a cousin in Germany too. End of Spring is beautiful.

A Dutch friend said: But Amsterdam! Surely you cannot NOT come here. Winter is just as fine! Snow everywhere. White Christmas.

Mr. Man felt like he HAD to chip in: You know what? You just can’t get past London! And down to Brighton. Watching summer fields along the way…

A friend in Paris offered: And since you’re already down South, just hop across the channel, I’ll have it all planned out for you when you’re here.

And so my head spinning, my eyes watering, my heart thumping, all I heard is Blah Blah Bloody Blah. I wanted to yell at them. That this is NOT helping! That it’s not like I can just blow my nose and 24K gold would come squirting out like a broken tap! That you guys had better stop all this name dropping and show me how to rob a bank, or else, JUST HAND OVER YOUR WALLETS QUICK SMART!!!

But of course I didn’t yell. Instead, I went over to a corner to stare at the (coloured!) map at the back of my diary. And sulked.

~itchy feet~

Leave a Reply

