Wannabe art connoisseurs. The environmentally destructive kind.

Mr. Man: Let’s go to Canberra and check out “Masterpieces from Paris“.

Me: What’s that?

Him: A major Post-impressionist exhibition at the NGA. van Gogh, Gauguin, Cezanne, etc.

Me: Alright about van Gogh and etc. (!) But I don’t even know who the last two dudes are.

Him: Isn’t seeing a van Gogh in real life good enough?

Me: Yeahhh… But it’s such a long drive. It’s like another Dali episode. Only much longer!

(Last year we went to see Dali at NGV and had to wait in line for more than 4 hours. I’m scarred. Still haven’t got over the torment experience.)

Him: But I’ll do all the driving. You can do all the sleeping and talking and belting out some corny tunes at the top of your voice.

Me: But… but doesn’t driving 8 hours to see some paintings seem a little er… environmentally damaging?

Him: I also want to see my cousin and his family.

Me: But more than 16 hours back and forth… And that’s not to mention all the fuel used in shipping the collection over from Musee d’Orsay.

Him: Ah, then who flew all the way to Broadway to see The Lion King? Imagine the carbon footprint of that.

Me: Oi! I was travelling and also visiting my cousin!

Him: Well. So am I this time.

Me: Oh-kaaay! Point taken. We’ll go. But you’ll have to let me listen to Justin Timberlake in the car.

Him: *hands up in resignation*

I think we both got ourselves a pretty good deal. Don’t you? 🙂

~t2~

Leave a Reply

